Don't Miss Anything We Post. Join Our Email List Today.

Watch the sixth annual Breakthrough Prize awards live right here!

As we head into awardings season, one of the first shows to lead the pack is all about science.

The Breakthrough Prize, a cumulative $22 million in awards that go to superstars in the fields of physics, life sciences, and maths, is going into its sixth year.

The show was founded by Yuri and Julia Milner, Sergey Brin, Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, Jack Ma and Cathy Zhang, with Tencent CEO Ma Huateng( Pony Ma) joining just this week as a founding sponsor.

The show will be held at the NASA Ames Research Center in Silicon Valley and will be hosted by none other than Academy Award-winning actor Morgan Freeman.

And that’s not the only star power coming to the depict this year — Wiz Khalifa will perform with musician Nana Ou-Yang, and celebrities such as Ron Howard, Mila Kunis, Ashton Kutcher, Kerry Washington, former NFL player and mathematician John Urschel, and Miss USA 2017 Kara McCullough will be in attendance to present awards.

From the official release: here are the award winners and a brief description of their work 😛 TAGEND

Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics

( The$ 3 million physics prize will be shared between the entire 27 member WMAP experimental squad, with the largest share going to the following five team leaders)

Chuck L. Bennett, Johns Hopkins University

Gary Hinshaw, Univ. of British Columbia

Norman Jarosik, Princeton University

Lyman Page, Jr ., Princeton University

David N. Spergel, Princeton University

Free Mini-Course and Weekly Updates!

Signup now and receive our Awesome Science Mini-Course and weekly updates when we publish new content.

I will never give away, trade or sell your email address. You can unsubscribe at any time.